We All Need a Little Help Sometimes

by Shelly Ireland, guest blogger

This entry was originally posted  on September 5, 2013.

guestpostToday,  I learned something that I hadn’t known. When I was a child,  my parents legally named my sister as my Guardian in case something happened to them. That made perfect sense.  My sister was a lot older than me,very responsible, and certainly would know how my parents would raise me.  I learned this during a very long emotional day for us. We started emailing,  then texting,  then a number of phone calls. We got it all out today and went through a lot of kleenex!  At one point I told her to butt out of my life and learn to respect my choices, good and bad. (I am paraphrasing because I wasn’t that polite). And she said,  “but you have to listen to me, I am your guardian”. I said,  “Gerry -Mae, I am 47, I think that no longer applies.”

At the end of the day, my sister is still my hero and I love her deeply. This is a little bump in our relationship and we will likely have some more. Today,  though, we both let our emotions get the best of us.  We would have better served if we had a trained counsellor to help us. Both of us have to change and we could have used someone with the courage to point us on the path of personal growth.

Bonnie is an amazing listener who has strong insight. She creates an environment for risk -taking and personal growth.

Life doesn’t happen to us,  it responds to us. When our emotions overwhelm us, it is like we are standing up against a wall. We need someone to help us take a few steps back so that we are able to see the whole picture.  A counsellor can help examine our own personal areas of responsibility, explore options, and create a road map for change.

Shelley Ireland is a work in progress and professionally has been working in the mental health field for almost 25 years.  She is also an engaging public speaker who focuses on helping health care professionals dealing with difficult people. Her life has been progressively better since 2007 when Bonnie Bieganski came into her life.
We All Need a Little Help Sometimes

Leave a Reply

